Picture
Today: 59 Miles – AVG Speed: 12.6MPH  -Top Speed: 28.6 MPH
Total: 5,320.70

We are inching ever closer with a comfortable 59 miles today, but guess who we met last night. Only Matthias. He sent me a message in the late afternoon telling me he was in Sacramento for the night. He’d learnt from his Carson City errors, though, and we both abstained from imbibing any intoxicating liquids.

He had gone early this morning, true to his word, and only 48 hours late getting ahead of Betty and me. I suppose that’s success. I didn’t get on the road until about 10:30 as I knew it would be easy enough today, but I was slightly delayed as Betty had a puncture that needed fixing, I would’ve thought she would have learned how to do it herself by now, but it’s getting a bit late in the day for bollockings, wouldn’t you say. Any unresolved issues we have will have to stay that way, I want to enjoy these last few days with her.

Once we were repaired the day was easy. Gorgeous blue skies without a cloud in sight and very little wind until late afternoon. We made a quick pit-stop in Davis for breakfast and to pick up some inner tubes in case the old mare fails to avoid any nasty thorns in the remaining days. Davis is known as the Bike Capital of America. Granted, this is a self-proclaimed title, but it’s probably worthy. It lays claim to being the first town in the US to create bike lanes in the 60’s and is also home to the University of California, and many of the students seemed to be on two wheels during my brief loiter. It is also home to the United States Bicycling Hall of Fame, but it’s only open on a Wednesday and a Saturday, so I didn’t get a chance to go in for some carbon fibre-perving.

The last 45 miles of the day were spent riding through rolling countryside of fruit orchards. Everywhere I looked there was a semi-ripe something-or-other hanging from the branches. The trees created a natural lengthy atrium over the narrower roads, which created natural shade from the heat and offered a picturesque ride.

We arrived in Fairfield at about 3:30pm. Well, kind of arrived here as the town just creeps up on you. It is one of those sprawling suburban places choc-full of gated communities and a shopping mall, but no real heart. The people are nice, though, one kid of 15 even said he liked my beard. It takes real character to lie like that to someone’s face, so there must be some soul here, but I’m glad I haven’t had to endure too many towns of this type thus far. The bonus is that they have a cinema, and I’m going to go along tonight. I haven’t seen a film on the big screen since I departed, and I fancy a treat. The Butler starring Oprah Winfrey and Forest Whitaker's eye is on. Should be good. Bit of black power and that, being in the senate yesterday has got me all riled up. Viva La Revolucion!

Tomorrow, we will hit the coast to complete the trip from ocean to ocean, which will leave only the formality of a short ride of 30 miles over the Golden Gate Bridge and into San Francisco the following day to end the tour. Just two more days and 100 miles remain. Wish us luck.


That's great, but keep it to yourself, Jeff.
...living together in perfect harmony.
Rob Kinley
9/8/2013 11:17:37 am

LC, where are you finishing up? I'm in California for the next few days, might buy you a beer if you're around. MIGHT.

Reply
LC
9/8/2013 11:19:15 am

shit the bed. Well, i'm in SF. That's ruined the blog surprises, but for you, it's worth it. Where are you? Really prepared to screw up your honeymoon for me?

Reply



Leave a Reply.