Picture
Today: 111.2 Miles - AVG Speed: 14.6 MPH - Top Speed: 41.2MPH
Total: 5,261.2 Miles

How nice to awake in a beautiful cabin. To be honest, it's where a man of my venerable character and Betty's sultry struts should be staying every night, but that's not the point of the tour, is it. We are supposed to be living hard - ish.

The morning was spent in the mountains as we negotiated some minor climbs before the long descent. That’s an 8,000 foot descent over 50-odd miles, for the record. Which makes the 110 mile day less impressive as about 40% involved no pedalling at all. I felt vindicated in staying in The Sierras last night as the views on the lakes and immediate forest were stunning in the morning light, even if the distant mountains and trees were almost undetectable due to the smoke from the North Rim fire.

As I reached the foothills of the Sierras everything had changed, I was now in gorgeous rolling countryside where there were vineyards everywhere and towns aplenty. The first of these towns was Placerville, made famous by the movie Amercian Graffiti that was set in Mel’s Diner and also, incidentally, where I ate lunch. The film means nothing to me, in truth, but for anyone from an older generation (old people), it may ring a bell. I’d given up on the granola, too, it may not be good for me, but a few more days of high-cholesterol food won’t do any more damage. A double burger and other fatty things, it was.

I then hit Folsom, famous for it’s state prison, which was built after being inspired by a Johnny Cash song. I had reckoned on staying in Folsom, but accommodation was at a premium, as were the prices. So, another 25 miles to Sacramento, but it meant a ride along a path parallel to the American River, which meant no traffic and therefore, no pressure. I got chatting to Lois near the city as I asked for directions, she was very friendly and had done some bike tours of her own, it was another example of people being generous with their time, and there’s no doubt that is what I’ll miss most when I hang my panniers up.

I arrived in the hostel just before sunset and the building was just as grand as many I had passed on the long street to get here. All the residential buildings had unique architecture and there was little separation between the housing and business district. These blurred lines were refreshing.

I decided on staying for the day in Sacramento. It is the California State Capital after all, and I doubt I would ever be coming back unless I get the nod for governor. 

I spent the morning at two museums. The first was the California State Railroad Museum. I have little/zero interest in trains, but it had come recommended and I wasn't disappointed. Housed in the enormous building were dozens of real carriages from the 1800's up unto the present day. The layout of the place was astonishing and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. There are some criticisms to be made over corporate sponsorship of their laughably bad 22 minute film on the history of the pacific railroad or anything like an objective profile of the four barons who made it happen, let alone mention of those who perished in it's construction, but I would highly recommend it for a visit if you're ever here. As I would a good look around the reconstructed Old Town of Sacramento where the museum sits. It is a bit of a tourist trap, yes, but the buildings are magnificent, and if you can just suspend your disbelief for a few moments, you'll be sure to be transported back in time for a bit.

After here I went to the state capital building/museum, which I didn't enjoy as much from an educational or astonishment standpoint, but it was a treat to go into the senate to see where they do business. 

So, tomorrow we'll be on the road again. Less than 200 miles remaining and I've finally learnt something. That's a relief.


That's the room.
What's the other option?
If you can read this, I'll organise a free trip.
Sacramento Old Town.
Just liked it.
The Californian senate. No doubt grander than that of most nations.
Look into the eye.
Peter and Donna Ward
9/7/2013 10:58:06 pm

Good morning! Wow, you are almost there. We are now in Pigeon Forge/Sevierville, TN home of Dolly Parton. Being tourists for a few days and then to Alabama to visit family mid-week and Florida here we come. Peter has had an easy drive as we have shorter days and rest days in between. You certainly have made great strides, be proud of your accomplishment!! Bet you are anxious to see SF and mom. Will she recognize the bearded Shaun?? Thanks again for a wonderful western trip via your blog. We shall return to your archives so as to earmark places we hope to visit next year if all goes well with Peter. Hope there are bottles of bubbly for you in SF.

Reply
10/7/2014 05:41:39 am

nice posts

Reply



Leave a Reply.