Picture
Today: 79.2 Miles – AVG Speed: 11.8MPH – Top Speed: 34.8MPH
Total: 4,837.2

Mexican was the cuisine of choice last night. We had a few options in the outpost of Ely, but Matthias and I decided on some spicy meats from our friends south of the border. Now, I know this information is about as interesting as an actual conversation about food, but hold on, because I haven’t bloody finished. When we sat down were immediately engaged by two chaps and a lady when Matthias and I told them about our trips.




“I gotta say, it’s just great meeting you here, I met an Australian guy forty years ago when I was stationed in Germany. You guys are just so friendly” 

“Yeah, I‘m er, English, actually”

“Oh really, I’m sure I detected and Australian accent”

“Don’t worry, mate, it happens”


two minutes later, another elderly gent wanders over...

“I couldn’t help but hear you when you walked in, I just wanted to say that the Australians were the best fighters I ever came across, they just wouldn’t back down”

“That’s great, but I’m not….nevermind”


Luckily it was just the two incidents today, but it is becoming something of a theme, is it not? Anyhow, the original three to who we were talking left after about thirty minutes so Matthias and I chewed the fat over a Tecate when we asked for the bill. Just as we were opening our wallets, our waitress informed us that our new friends had paid for our entire meal and drinks. This wasn’t the first time either of us had been on the receiving end of such generosity, but it never ceases to amaze. Bloody nice people out here.

Anyway, that was last night, and this blog was clearly about today, so I'll tell you about that now. There were more climbs and valleys as Matthias, Betty and I (Matthias hasn’t named his bike, it would be un-German) continued through the basin ranges of Nevada’s high desert. There were four ascents to negotiate, and unlike yesterday Matthias seemed to have the measure of them and me. This Teutonic machine had regained his lost strength and seemed intent on showing me who’s boss. Still, it was a good day along the Loneliest Road in America, which has got a little lonelier, actually, but I don't retract yesterdays statement regarding unceremoniously firing the fraudulent slogan creator at Life magazine. If you're going to give something a catchy name, then you should have quantifiable evidence for it, rather than thoughtlessly saying things that allow unscrupulous tourist boards to appropriate it for marketing. I'm sorry if that seems harsh, but it's just the way the Lycra Cowboy (Creator and Owner of THE best travel blog being written in America*) feels.

We arrived in Eureka at about 6pm as the sun was setting and the town certainly has one of the strongest Western feels of any I’ve been in so far. There are plenty of wood-faced buildings and older men sporting stetsons and driving 1970’s models of pick up trucks.

We’ve just got back to our motel from an outrageously large and fattening meal that has satisfied us both. Hopefully the fatboy banana split will slow him down tomorrow. Betty and I can't have another episode like today, it's the first time I've seen her so shaken, perhaps she just needs some TLC.


*copyright pending approval

The Historic Nevada Hotel. Apparently.
Is it? Is it!?
All the big names have played here.
During dessert
Post dessert.
Fran
9/1/2013 08:18:27 pm

Love the blog

Reply
Peter and Donna Ward
9/2/2013 03:38:17 am

WAY TO GO SHAUN - HOW MANY MORE MILES?? HAPPY TO HEAR YOU HAVE PEOPLE FOR THE MOST PART VERY WELCOMING IN YOUR TRIP WEST WITH "BETTY". BE PROUD AS YOU TOUCH THE WEST COAST!! ARE YOU GOING TO PUT YOUR WHEELS IN THE OCEAN?? THAT SEEMS TO BE THE NORM AS FOLKS ARRIVE TO THE EAST COAST. WE ARE HEADED OUT TOMORROW MAKING OUR WAY TO FLORIDA. THANKS FOR ALL THE PICS OF YOUR TRIP WEST - IT WAS LIKE BEING THERE AND THE BLOG WAS EVER SO GREAT.

Reply
Shaun O'Dwyer
9/4/2013 03:39:44 pm

Cheers guys. 100 or so left, are you back in Florida now?

Reply
Peter and Donna Ward
9/7/2013 10:50:44 pm

Not yet.

Reply



Leave a Reply.