Picture
Today 21.2 Miles – AVG Speed: 8.2 MPH – Top Speed: 18.5MPH
Total: 3,744.5

At 7 o’clock this morning I awoke to the free-campers alarm. A police siren. “Good god”, I thought “Can’t you leave me alone, man. I am absolutely shattered” . The siren came closer and I just lay there, in no mood for an early morning cajoling from an officer of the law. As I waited to hear the sound of his door opening and thick boots pounding the dust outside, I wondered how my non-compliance would go-down. I could barely move. Well, those sounds didn’t manifest and after a minute or so, I heard the engine start and away he went. He couldn’t have been more than thirty feet away from me. I passed out again, and sometime later I heard the sound of clacking. This was more unusual. I gathered myself and exited the tent only to see the most staggering sight. A group of eight wild mustangs were circling my area and it was beautiful. They stopped and stared at me whilst nursing their young and grooming their partners. Already I felt better inside of my head, if not quite physically. After querying my existence for a while and allowing me to pack away my clothes they began to gallop off at speed toward the sunrise kicking up a trail of dust in their wake. If only I had my camera to catch this beautiful aspect of nature occurring in front of me. Unfortunately, I was too damn achy to move for the thing, so I’ll have to be content with the memory of it.

It really was a struggle gathering myself today. Yesterday’s toll had not yet been paid and I was seriously apprehensive about completing the 20 miles to Monument Valley, but I couldn’t stay here. I got going, and around the first bend in the road I could see the world famous monoliths. They didn’t disappoint. They were truly staggering, and all I needed to do was get there. Still 18 miles left. There were plenty of up-hills, and the sun was beating down, but the thought of reaching a campsite and being able to take in their beauty was motivation enough. I struggled on, arriving at about 11am and feeling supremely tired. I tried to eat a burger at The Navajo Welcome Centre and just about kept it down. Nothing to do with the cooking, it was just my body’s reluctance to hold down any fsolids as I was still severely dehydrated. I found the campsite just half a mile down the road, and it is here that I have been sitting all day. Reading and intermittently looking out at these searing, alien giants. I require another day off to truly get back to health, but to be able to sit in the presence of these natural wonders has made the journey worth it, and if anything, the feelings such sights evoke is only enhanced by the exertion it took to get here. And I suppose that’s the point.


Inching in.
The valley ahead.
Betty looks on in awe.
I think this says: "Shaun Loves Mark". Mark, if you're out there, I don't. And I'm truly sorry this has, quite literally, been cemented for ever.



Leave a Reply.