Picture
Today: 75.4 Miles – AVG Speed: 15.9MPH – Top Speed: 42.2MPH
Total: 3,617.13

After our three day enforced absence from the road, Betty and I are back. The new wheel came in yesterday, and boy, doesn’t she look sharp. Obviously parting with a limb can be painful, but when a shiny new one comes through the post and is expertly attached then the sadness is neutralised by the novelty. Just ask Heather Mills.

Anyway, the old girl is back to her best and looking fantastic, which is more than I can say for myself…

…As Betty was in the operating theatre, I, like all good pals, was elsewhere. Enjoying the Telluride Jazz Celebration to be exact. Jazz isn’t my preferred musical genre, but I went in headfirst yesterday anyway and really enjoyed it. It was a desirable change to experience a cultural event in the middle of what has largely been, thus far, a sight seeing tour. I also suspect that cheap beer consumed at altitude may have contributed to my enjoyment of the event. At any rate, the result of this enforced jaunt was that I wasn’t feeling too great this morning, and the knowledge that another 2,000 feet of climbing awaited me sent shivers down my spine and then, moments later, up through my oesophagus. I wasn’t even aware the internal organs connected in this manner, but the proof, as the saying goes, is in the digestive tract. I needn’t had worried about the ride, though, as once I got cracking, everything clicked into place. The climb was fun, in fact. Not only physically, but also as I knew this would be the final ascent through The Rockies. It felt like the end of a chapter. I’ll often be able to make happy withdrawals from the memory bank when I think back to my time in this most mountainous of states.

Once I arrived at the top of Lizard Head Pass, I made a snappy and furtive change of attire as a result of the dark clouds overhead and prepared myself for a downhill. A downhill of 60 miles to be exact. That’s what was in store as we went from 10,222 feet at the summit then through the San Juan National Forest before arriving, a few hours later, in Cortez at 6,200 feet.  This was a nice easy day and a very civilised manner in which to get back in the saddle. Tomorrow, however, there's a 125 mile ride in the offing through the desert to Monument Valley, Utah. This destination, along with many others that are pending, is high on the list of must-sees of the tour. It’s just going to be a bloody pain getting there.


Titting about in Telluride
Oh, the wit.
A new accessory for the handlebars. It squeaks and that.
Later, Rockies. Hello Desert.
Peter and Donna Ward
8/8/2013 11:23:28 am

Way to go, back in the saddle and rolling again. Glad you were able to take in the jazz festival and all that it offered!!

Reply
8/8/2013 11:23:01 pm

Shawn, sounds like a ton of fun out there! Similar to your luck, I stumbled into the Telluride Blues Fest one year, and had a ball! Colorado is one heck of a special place, no?! Monument Valley will definitely be one of many highlights,,,, please post lots of pics of it all for us lurkers!!! Cheers...

Reply



Leave a Reply.