Picture
Today: 66.8 Miles – AVG Speed 14.9MPH - Top Speed 40.1MPH
Total: 3,315.9

Our final morning together was spent over a very lazy two-hour breakfast before departing for our final 10 miles as a group, and despite the sadness at our impending parting it felt great to finally hit some of the first sustained climbs since New York. I hadn’t noticed how much my legs had craved the raw burn. They were like a man who had settled for a life of monotonous missionary horseplay with a bland lover before finally seeing the light after an unexpectedly passionate rendezvous with a forthright PVC adorned mistress from his forgotten past; potentially dangerous if treated without caution, but a masochistic pleasure when dealt with correctly.

We finally reached our literal and metaphorical fork in the road just outside of the belly the Southern Rockies. I was sad to see them go, but also incredibly excited about these new frontiers that awaited me. I have been anticipating The Rockies and Utah from day one so my excitement was bubbling over. We hugged and had some final photos before our farewells and then came the long goodbye as the team waved me off as they watched me take my left turn, and with that casual lean into the wind, that was that. I was alone once again. But what an incredible blanket of comfort awaited me.

As soon as I made my departure I was confronted with some of the most spectacular views I have ever seen. The road I was travelling was built parallel to the Arkansas River where I watched rafters and canoeists make their way down the unpredictable course, waving at them as they played with danger and thrills. The cliff faces of red and grey rock jutted out on to the road, imposing their gnarled features as I traversed the winding highway. In the distance I could see faded mountain-tops, with each range in closer proximity to me revealing more detail in the personality of these giant, patriarchal, ancient figures. I was blown away by what I was seeing. I had managed my expectations of beauty and the magnificent well thus far so as not to be disappointed, but here, I was dumbfounded and if I had a companion, I would've been rendered speechless. My mind overcome with the purity of joy and my heart beating with the excitement. I had not a worry in the world for the rest of the afternoon. When you realise your insignificance in the face of such imposing geological scenery and well over a billion years of history, solipsistic concerns fade away.

When I arrived in Salida I discovered there was a bike race in town so all accommodation was booked up, I eventually found a free state campground on the Arkansas River and this is from where I type now. The wind blowing and the sun retreating but my mood flying. Tomorrow comes The Monarch Pass at over 11,000 feet. It’ll be a long gradual climb into the low temperatures followed by a glorious descent and I’m eager to get going. At this moment, I wouldn’t wish to be anywhere else in the world. This place is truly sublime.


The view from near the campsite.
The domineering red rock of The Rockies.
The varied fauna of The Rockies.
The barnstorming Arkansas river.
Hugs all around.
Liz, if you think I'm going to bend down to make things easier then you're very much mistaken.
Is that sign a sign?
Ian
7/28/2013 04:58:05 pm

Enter the race! Enter the race!

Reply
Shaun O'Dwyer
7/28/2013 04:59:47 pm

Which Race?! Which Race?!

Reply
Shaun O'Dwyer
7/28/2013 05:01:34 pm

Gotcha. You can't just let someone ride their bike without competing, can you.

Reply
Peter and Donna Ward
7/29/2013 05:24:32 am

Wow, what a breathtaking view of the Rockies. We are envious of all you have seen and are seeing - more magnificent views ahead!! We are anxious to get on our RV trek across to see all of this. Sara Hart and Alex Bassett who left Seattle in May touched her bike treds into Belfast Bay yesterday - her trek is over and said she gained 10 lbs of muscle. Did u happen to meet them on your way?? They both went to Colby College in Maine, she from Belfast and he from New York City. Safe cycling as you are solo once more!! Enjoy all its beauty as you traverse the Rockies.

Reply
Tony
7/29/2013 07:07:03 am

I'm gutted. Eric was my favourite character..

Reply



Leave a Reply.