Picture
Today: 69 Miles (+ honourable 8*) – AVG Speed 12.8MPH – Top Speed - 38.7MPH
Total: 2,437.16

Watermelon is not a breakfast. Even if your day consists only of burping, snoring and going to the toilet it is still scant nutrition. We finally stopped for a big boys snack two hours into the ride at a bistro called Jays Nest in Marshfield and it was the best little restaurant I’d come across so far. A very quirky country/blues café that doubled as a vintage store, it was almost like hanging out in Shoreditch, except the plaid shirts and stetsons weren't worn ironically and I didn't hear the word gorgeous once. The place had soul, good grub and made a great difference from my recent ventures to chain fast food restaurants. I hope for more of these hidden diamonds as time goes on, but we'll see.

We arrived at our destination of Ash Grove after another day’s working and negotiating Missouri’s multiple and infinite hills expecting another perfectly acceptable night under a park pavilion. After we’d used the communal showers we began thinking about the evening’s plans when police officer pulled up, exited his vehicle and began his purposeful walk towards our group. He reached into his pocket before pulling out a key on a green key chain before asking: “Y’all wanna stay in the house tonight?” whilst pointing at the white building behind him. “It’s got beds, toilets and cooking facilities”

Do we want to stay in a house for nothing? Of course we do, mate. It certainly beats sleeping on a splinter-ridden bench swatting cockroaches away from my particulars, even if that was my idea of fantasy sleeping quarters just 24 hours a go. What can I say, we humans are fickle.

This kind of co-operation from the law is becoming increasingly frequent now I’m on a more well-travelled route on my maps, but still, to have a house to stay in for free offered by the local authorities was a wonderful gesture. I am now typing after a grand Mexican feast and currently listening to the multi-talented Miss Annie Long play Arcade Fire on a long forgotten out-of-tune piano. There’s something very soothing about the errors in the instrument’s response to her fingers and it’s acting as a sweet lullaby to me and my housemate’s ears. How distant this kind of interaction seemed a few days ago. On the flipside, Eric is attempting to throw some cheap, spiced rum down my gullet “for a laugh”. A paradox if ever I’ve known one.

*The odometer shut down for approximately 8 miles today. 


Not quite sure what's going on here.
When uppercase and lowercase collide.
Another bustling US Main Street
A lovely window display in the Mexican restaurant.
"we used to wait"



Leave a Reply.