Picture
Today 44.2 Miles  -AVG Speed 12.6MPH – Top Speed 33.4MPH
Total 2,368.26

It was a wee bit chilly this morning, but that’s what you get when you retire for the night on a bench in your sleeping bag. Still, whilst there is some kind of overhead shelter I shall continue to reject sleeping in my tent. It’s like a scientifically sealed chamber of bacteria and new species in there, and I’m keen to avoid dwelling in it for as long as possible.

We set off for breakfast and I was desperately looking forward to some bacon and eggs, when half a mile in I had another wobble. I looked down at my front tyre and released an extraordinary flurry of expletives and sexual slang words that would have been enough to make a drunken, sociopathic docker walk away in disgust. Another flat. That’s four in three days. I was particularly annoyed as we had planned to take the morning off today in order to frolic in a river, and over the past few days I’d learnt that these guys would hang around for me and I despised the thought of ruining their day. Well, we went to Walmart where I threw a petulant hissy fit before taking stock after Eric and the crew simply laughed at me. Quite right, too. Perspective was called for. When Betty was all fixed up with not just new tubes but a new tyre too, we set off to the river and frolic we did. We found those little fish that nibble at your fit, swam around in the glorious sunshine and clear water, and Eric and Liz indulged in a cliff jump and a spot of fishing. Quite a lot of activities for a couple of hours, but it felt like a good break after the climbing of yesterday.

At about 2:30 we set off for a short 40 mile burst to Hartsville. But after 10 miles, get this: Another puncture. Rage gave way to disbelief as this was now the rear tyre, entirely unrelated to the previous deflations both in air and mood. Eric hung back with me and we fixed it, I tried to send him on, but he was having none of it "Save yourself!" I wailed, whilst dramatically throwing my arms in the air, but Eric stood by me like a highly paid lawyer to his odious criminal client. Well, we set off again, but after 10 minutes we heard hissing. Same tyre and it was probably our fault, but incredulity reined. The laughing off becoming less and less frequent at this stage and that goes for both of us

Eventually we sorted ourselves out before the remaining 25 miles or so to Hartsville and now we're here we can relax. It’s a great view. Another pavilion, more outdoor napping (for free) and what’s best, a communal dinner. We’re like an on tour kibbutz and I’m revelling in this camaraderie.

I expect, hellish tyre issues aside, we can put in some good miles tomorrow as we descend the Ozarks making our way towards Kansas. And hopefully find a bike shop for some armadillo style tank tyres. 


Water Buddha.
caught short
Just what we wanted next to our evenings accommodation after a day of punctures.
Masterchefs
Sam
7/17/2013 01:16:25 am

Get some Kevlar tires (which you probably already have). After every puncture run a rag through the inside of the tire and rim (which you probably already know). My only other advice - drink more.

Reply
Spainer
7/17/2013 01:24:17 am

Get some Maxxis Refuse or Continental Gatorskins and do what Sam said check your rims and drink more beer. What date are you expecting to be in San Fran? Any space for a single speed, although I would probably die trying to get up hills there.

Reply
Jan Neumeister
7/17/2013 04:12:36 am

Nightmare day with so many punctures. When you change the inner tube I would check the tire for bits of flint. Remove (carefully) with a multi tool.much love ...❤

Reply
Alan P, Norwich
7/17/2013 06:33:52 am

That motley crew look like sex people. Save yourself!

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
7/17/2013 10:38:35 am

Thanks for the advice, chaps. All taken heed off, should be getting some new rubbers tomorrow. oo err, missus.

Siren, SF on the 9th of September or thereabouts.

Reply



Leave a Reply.