Picture
69.4 miles  Avg Speed 12.6 MPH -top speed 36.2MPH 
Total 187.5miles

So I didn’t get the opportunity to use my propane gas canister this morning due to the torrential downpour that was happening outside of my little plastic sanctuary. I was bitterly disappointed as I really wanted to give it a crack, but under the circumstances it would have been like trying to light a fart in a Jacuzzi; marvellous when it comes off, but unlikely given the conditions. So I sat disconsolate in the tent wondering how I would tackle the elements in packing up my gear, when after some internal deliberation it finally occurred to me! MAN UP. Yes, that’s right boyo, stop being such a whining ninny and get yourself wet, so I did just that. It wasn’t pleasant, but when I’d actually managed to pack it all up and get on the bike I felt great. The clouds broke at about midday and after that it was a glorious day to ride. I went through some more picturesque New England towns. Bath was the highlight for me, with it's riverside promenade and red brick buildings, but I ended up in Brunswick when two spectacular examples of Maine hospitality reared their heads. Firstly, a man in a van stopped me as I was riding up a back street, it turns out he owned the local bike shop and he always stopped bike tourists to check that their wheels are aligned, gears are clicking nicely and saddle sores didn't need wet wipes applied by a third party. I said I was AOK on all three, but we went to his shop so he could get me a map and some free energy gels anyway. Whattaguy.

I took his maps and headed for a local campsite to pitch up for the night by making my merry way down another of Maine’s tree lined streets when I saw a family near a beach, I asked if they thought it would be ok if I camped there, and they said probably not, but that I could use their garden instead. "Good Lord", I screamed (inside), "these people want to help a sweaty stranger from another nation they know nothing about" I thought, but I was in no position to be coy on invitations, I met some of their friends including the Maineopedia, Brad who was always on hand to help me brush up on my New England history. When I turned up at Marie, Julie and Greg Penners' place they pointed me towards a good spot on the lawn and I gleefully made it my home, but that wasn’t all, they invited me in for dinner. It was a vegan feast, which isn’t something this carnivore is used to, but I took it gratefully and it was very tasty and most importantly filling. I was also afforded the luxury of a hot shower before the final surprise of a trip downtown to have some highly praised gelato, they had soy gelato on the basis on their veganism, but I went creamy old school. I’m a little rebellious like that.

So, a day that started terribly, ended wonderfully with me being treated by possibly the nicest people I’ve ever met, let alone in this state. Oh well, onwards and upwards, I can’t stay around eating other peoples organically grown spuds forever.


looking back it's so bizarre...it runs in the family
crosstown traffic
Phil Vincent
6/9/2013 11:48:48 pm

I have two questions.

First, how much go pro footage are you shooting from your helmet cam?

Second, how are you finding the Brooks saddle?

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/10/2013 12:09:16 am

1: I turn it on for downhills mainly. The files are juicy, so I keep it to a minimum.
2: Brooks is good, but not essential.
3: oh, there were only two...

Reply
Phil Vincent
6/10/2013 12:13:05 am

Does your go pro have the time lapse option on it?

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/10/2013 12:41:27 am

Yes, but I haven't got that far with it, yet.

Reply
Peter and Donna Ward
6/10/2013 02:47:57 am

Happy to see another blog!! Keep-a-going!!!

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/10/2013 04:02:59 am

Cheers guys, I'm trudging thru.

Reply
Marie Penner
6/19/2013 12:06:12 pm

Keep thinking back on your visit with fond memories. What a lovely chance meeting. I was very happy to hear that your bath bag was safely returned to you. All the best.

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/19/2013 01:17:42 pm

Wasn't it just, Marie. Such a great time. I hope you're well. I'm much better now the rain has stopped and I have my lenses back.

Reply



Leave a Reply.