Picture
Today: 55.73 AVG Speed 12.3 - Top Speed 30.5MPH
Total: 1,793.88

Today is the Fourth of July, and it is now, dear reader, that you will be aware of my trick. Namely that these blogs are, on average, 48 hours old when I upload them. How robbed you must feel in this age of rolling news and first date sex. But we’ve been getting on, right? So let’s move on.


I awoke at The Hoosiers Motel this morning to the grim sight that I have been awaking to nearly every morning of my blessed existence. No, not my morning face, but to that of a grey sky and hard rain when I draw the curtains wide. Today’s weather had been expected though, not due to pessimism, but due to perfunctory forecast checking, and with that knowledge, today started with a smile. This rain was not of the stinging freezing variety that had been so pervasive in New England, but warm, and although heavy, and definitely still wet, not unbearable. In fact, I've grown to enjoy the rain, when you really get going in it on the bike the whole adventure seems more challenging and I feel more defiant. And there's nothing I like more than defying something. Except Betty of course, she's not to be messed about, even it is only for a laugh.

After skirting the corners of the Ohio river and getting some haunting views of Louisville in the rain, I made my way up some pretty tough winding hills where every corner presented a view of road that mirrored the last and this gave me a sense of deja-vu for some time. And this gave me a sense of deja-vu for some time. The only difference being the gradual thickening of the cloud in front of my eyes with every turn. After that main ascent had been conquered I was back to old familiar farmland, the same landscapes that had conjured up images of denim, plaid and chewing tobacco just yesterday, had today sent my memory to thoughts of home, where the fields are lush but moist and always rolling. It’s amazing what sunshine and shadows, or lack of them, can do for an outlook.

I arrived at my hotel early today, this was due to the next sheltered accommodation being 80 miles away in Owensboro, KY. And 130 miles in these conditions with hills was off the cards as much as pitching a tent was.

Linda greeted me at the hotel and when she enquired as to if I was eligible for a discount as a member of AAA or as former military personnel I responded in the negative, only to ask “How about a discount for cross-country cyclists?” as a joke (hilarious, I know). Well, it transpires that they did, actually, because Linda checked the lever-arch file to discover that the likes of me (and me) are entitled to a juicy $20 discount. Who would’ve guessed it? Well, that’ll cover the pizza tonight. And seeing as it’s July Fourth, I might just light a sparkler whilst watching Independence Day.


Louisville from the fringes.
Colonial Masterpiece.
Tracks to nowhere.
They're clouds, we're in the clouds.
England or Kentucky?
And gobble it they did.
The Ohio river in all its murky glory.
Peter and Donna Ward
7/7/2013 07:38:08 am

hey, you got to see the big bat! keep on going - lucky for you that you have met nice folks and have had cabins at times to keep you dry for the next day's run in the rain!

Reply
Ollie Bersey
7/11/2013 11:05:15 pm

Like what you did with the deja-vu there Shaun. Razor sharp as always.

Reply



Leave a Reply.