Picture
57.5 miles. Avg Speed 12.6 MPH, Fastest Speed 40.2MPH
TOTAL: 117.9 miles

Howdy, Day 2 down then and it started well, Peter and Donna allowed me in to the rolling mansion for some strong coffee and cereal with blueberries. BLUEBERRIES IN CEREAL. You see England, that’s why America is better than you. You unimaginative toad of a breakfasting nation. 

Today was harder than yesterday for sure. It was very gloomy and although the towns through which I passed, such as Belfast and Camden (no bombs or pot, disappointingly) were beautifully untouched by the hand of modern man, I was starting to ache a bit and the countless amount of up and down hills from Belfast to Rockland started to take their toll on my legs so every time I hit a glorious descent only to see another imminent climb I felt as though I was yet again being shown the boobs but the knickers were staying firmly on. Not nice.

I made my first stop in a Walmart today. Christ. As you can see from one of the below pictures, it wasn’t exactly nutrition central, and no, I didn’t take any pictures of the shoppers themselves as this would have been extremely disrespectful to my hosts, and my phone had annoyingly run out of battery when I tried. Rest assured though, everything you hear is true. Walmart did have some vital items though, including some mozzie repellant (the blighters have been at my back today) and – at last – a propane canister for my stove. Operation Become More Like Ray Mears But More Clumsy And Less Posh is well underway. I’m going to start easy by boiling some water for my coffee on it tomorrow morning, but after that the sky is the limit. I saw some very tasty looking roadkill earlier on. Heck, if I’m going to do this, I’m going to do it right (or wrong, depending on how prudish you are)

I met more great people today. Scott (a pilot) and Heather (his lady) were on a casual ride around their home town of Camden and took me for a little detour down by the rugged coastline. People really do go out of their way to take you out of yours here and I'm truly grateful for it, because when you're alone on the road the kindness of others gives an immeasurable boost to the loner. I also met a chap called Doug in Belfast who was also on a cycle tour to someplace named Canada. Anyway, Doug mentioned there is a website that cyclists use to get accommodation called warmshowers.org. Now, although this does sound like a website I may have stumbled upon in the past I must say it’s new to me, but I’ll be sure to check it out now, because it’s raining outside my crap tent, and is going to continue to do so for the next 5 days. This bike ride has basically been cover for me wanting to spend months outside building a perma-tan and now I feel like I’m in Cornwall in March, beautiful as it may be, I’m not really interested in how the early morning mist lights the bay. I want sun. Anyway, hopefully I can get some warm showers sprayed all over my pallid chest in the next week. That’ll cheer me right up.


look what i found in the veg aisle. At least it's fully cooked, I guess.
I'd like to see Carole Smiley turn this place around in a day. Spooky
It had just started raining so I'm not as happy as this photo suggests, but no-one likes a misery guts.
Libby Hill
6/7/2013 03:02:03 pm

Good Luck. Brilliant blog, made me chuckle, who knew you were funny?! ;) look forward to more installemts. Who knows I may even sponsor you at some point!All the best x

Reply
Sudha
6/7/2013 03:19:00 pm

Good luck dude! Will be following your posts!

Reply
Peter and Donna, Florida
6/8/2013 10:24:49 pm

What a pleasure to have met you. Keep up the spirit as you cycle through the states. Enjoying the blog, pics and your humor!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.