Picture
67.2 Miles. Avg 11.6MPH. Top Speed 32.1MPH
Total 1,282.25

I wanted to be gone by 9 today, but as so often is the case I spent the morning talking with new people. This time it was TR and Sue. I still don’t know what TR is short for, but if he ever comes on this blog perhaps he’ll enlighten us. I’m even thinking of initialising my own name now for some added flair. We‘ll see how it goes. Either way, it wasn’t a morning wasted, these brief conversations are what keep me galvanised day in and day out.

It was a hot one today, and in addition to the snacks bestowed upon me by TR and Sue, good old fashioned water would be my key to survival. Now, the heat I had thought about, what I hadn’t considered were hills. In Ohio! Loads of the bloody things. As ever, when the brain isn’t prepared it can be a shock, so this combined with the heat, head winds and a faulty pedal made for a hard day rolling on the asphalt.

I bumped into another touring cyclist today, this time it was Jim Epic (Jim, for all sorts of reasons, I hope I spelt your surname correctly) and we chatted for about 20 minutes or so. Yet again, he was headed in the opposite direction, and again, I bloody liked this Alabaman aero master. It’s a strange affinity that bike tourers have with one a other, I always like to stop with them, and I always enjoy their company. Oh well, one day I’ll be able to cajole someone into a brief spin with the Lycra Cowboy, it would probably help if I stopped calling myself Lycra Cowboy. Unlikely.

The big surprise of the day was my introduction to Amish life, not in terms of conversion, of course, but there are huge communities in upstate Ohio. I have more footage on my GoPro, which was sneakily taken without any respect at all for the talent, but on my old camera I was a little more reluctant to take obvious snaps for fear of being beaten to death by a horseshoe. Stopping in the town of Mesopotamia I saw many horse and carts and Pennsylvanian Dutch families and, despite my sexualised appearance, they were very affable and courteous. They returned waves at a higher percentage than the conformist majority so that says something. I would say this though, they’re very clean folk. You know when you’re travelling past an Amish dwelling as the lawn is full of their clothes hanging out to dry. I’ve never seen anything like it. They must smell divine. I did ask if Betty could have a whiff of one of the men’s beards, but she herself declined, stating she’d rather wait until mine hung around the front wheel for uninterrupted smelling pleasure. Good things come to those who wait, my girl.

I persevered through the heat and after stopping in the very affluent town of Hudson I arrived in Peninsula after finding the campsite of where I’m the only inhabitant. Betty needed a new rear tyre fitted so even though it was a two mile ride away and 6:30pm I decided to get down to the shop and have it fixed tonight. Also, as a total coincidence and something I hadn't heard about before hand, there was an incredible pub with a selection of beers nearby that would make a recently released Irish POW salivate with joy. I decided to kill a few thousand brain cells with one stone and have a few pints whilst Betty was being primed across the road. And don't worry, it won't harm me this drinking lark, beer is full of useful carbs.


Kind Regards,
SP/LC/SPO’D*

*Delete as appropriate


It looks like TR is holding my hand here. He is.
I need these.
Mesopotamia. Fish-eyed.
Amish car: Carmish.
Jim Epic. And he is epic.
Chill out, mate.
I just love water towers.
If I were God, I'd be livid with that lazy penmanship.
Americana.
Real American hero.
Peter and Donna Ward
6/27/2013 08:06:07 am

hey there shaun, you have made great strides. the amish are very clean - we camped in lancaster, pa. two years ago and enjoyed meeting the amish and conversing with them. nice that you meet bikers along the way - perhaps one will be headed your way. did not realize ohio had so many hills. the weather in maine today is cool and windy and lots of rain coming tonight!! wishing you cool dry days and wind at your back.

Reply



Leave a Reply.