Picture
81.9 Miles. Avg Speed 13.2MPH Fastest 33.6MPH
Total: 828.3
Another day, another pair of Foster Grant Sunglasses. Here’s a countdown of their lifecycles so far:

Pair 1: Purchased in Hartley Wintney Hampshire, UK on June 4th. Crushed on June 6th.

Pair 2: Purchased in Wal-Mart, Rockland, ME on June 7th. Crushed and lenses scratched by June 17th.

Pair 3: Purchased in Rite Aid, Hannibal, NY on June 17th. Probably dead by July.

I must start taking better care of these things. Still, it was an excuse to move with the fashions once more, I really don’t like to wear things after four or five outings, they become so passé and I have a reputation to uphold.

Before the big purchase of the day at 2pm things were already looking up. After my night the Port Lodge Motel I was refreshed and ready to get going. The forecast was 50/50 of some rain at some point, but I won’t let that pesky moisture get me down any longer so I enjoyed the sun whilst it lasted, and it lasted all day. My first stop was after approximately 30 miles and that was for breakfast in the city of Fulton, which was the largest city I had been in for over nine days (pop. 12,000). I was the final customer of the day at Esther’s Breakfast Place and in there, I surprisingly ran into Esther. A naturalised US citizen hailing from the Philippines, who at the time of my dramatic entrance was cleaning her grill and looking nervously at her only friend, a desert orchid. We had some accent comprehension difficulties at first, but after a while we got into things and really hit it off. I can’t do phonetic Fillipino, so for this transcript, Esther will be voiced by a Lancastrian Landlady.

‘Ay up, chuck, you look right ‘ungry, what ‘y'avin?” asked Esther.

“You’re correct, I am rather famished after this mornings prelude and could very much do with some nutrition” said I.

“Right, if th’aw want somethin’ big and tasta, I’ll rustle th’aw up churizer omlit with sausage on t’side” said Esther.

“That sounds wonderful. Majestic orchid, by the way”  I responded.

That’s pretty much how things went for a while, a tepid exchange to say the least, but as the grill heated up so did the chat. I told Esther about my ride and asked some pressing questions about her life and before long we were laughing like a pair of Llamas who had just watched Carry on up the Khyber on nitrous oxide.  I’m not one for photographing food normally, but I felt the enormity of this portion deserved pictorial referencing. It was the first meal I struggled to finish, I did finish, though just in case there’s any confusion. I always finish.

After I left Esther lonely and desolate, much like her beloved orchid, I struggled for a few minutes to get going in lieu of the stomach stretching breakfast, but on I pressed as today I would hit Lake Ontario and stay with Carole and Jim May from warmshowers. I took some time around the bays of Lake Ontario as despite some ominous looking cloud formations, the sun stayed bright and lit up the lake beautifully, I was eager to soak it up considering I had not appreciated all of New England’s beauty due to the weather. After a while I cycled on toward Jim and Carole’s place through the town of Pultneyville. The architecture here resembled the old colonial architecture I had previously seen in places like Cape Town, Massachusetts and the hit movie The Notebook. All beautiful, all bring a tear to the eye. The shore front houses had an upper veranda named a Widow’s Watch that overlooked the bay, designed so that wives could pine after their husbands who had been out on the Lake. Probably at war or something, I imagine. That’s what happened a lot back then. Poor buggers.

After some terribly deep moments musing over the fate of these nameless naval heroes I was back on the bike towards Jim and Carole’s house..

Well, what a treat I had in store. Carole and Jim had done the same trip as myself but in reverse and even written a book about it. They gave me some insights into what I could expect “out west”, and we spent a very pleasant evening eating good food and walking in their 62 acres of land. That’s right, 62 acres. The land holds their apple trees, which sprout all kinds of varieties of our favourite fruit that they sell on commercially. They’d loved and lived in this same house for 41 years and it’s some house. The pair of them have really made it a unique home. I could see why they’d never left and it had me thinking about how wonderful life would be in this part of the world. All four seasons, an incredible lake, locally grown produce, and Canada only 30 miles a way across a lake, so it is always there to be laughed at. How satisfying.

Anyway, tomorrow takes me to the Erie canal, which means I shall be on a stretch of the ride without cars for nearly 200 miles, hopefully no pedestrians get in my way. I’m becoming quite the speedster.    

Pretty silo
Man hungry. Man eat.
Esther and her orchid
Beautiful House
Great hosts: Jim and Carole. Not Zippy, though. he barked.
Their lakes are bigger here. Typical.
Ashley
6/20/2013 12:49:30 pm

I see a little game of silo/water tower.....

Ps- that's not their lake. It's lake ONTARIO

Reply
Peter and Donna Ward
6/20/2013 02:12:33 pm

You certainly are meeting interesting people in your travels. Thanks for the pics of the holsteins (cows), Peter used to raise these at our farm in Maine. Interesting you would be hosted by a couple who did the trip in reverse, how lucky for you to get first hand info. Keep on wheeling!

Reply
Ryan Gosling
6/20/2013 07:46:33 pm

Hey Shaun,

s'up?

I got a Google alert when you mentioned my hit movie The Notebook and I just wanted to say, KEEP THE F*CK OFF MY PATCH. OKAY?!

I spent 9 years building my house of dreams on the lakeside you limey oik.

I still can't use my left index finger after an unfortunate planing accident.

And Keep away from Esther. you have been warned.

Cereally yours,

Ryan

Reply



Leave a Reply.