Picture
60.4 miles . Avg Speed 13.4MPH. Fastest Speed 41.2MPH

As I type after retiring from Day 1 I sit at a crimson bench staring at my flimsy excuse for a tent; the only tent in view in fact, for tonight I reside at Shady Oaks campsite in East Orland, and by campsite I mean a Dutch window display for behemoth RVs. Fortunately, most of these locals seem to have taken pity on me, it’s hard to get anything done here as I’ve constantly been stopped and questioned with genuine interest about my journey from young and old, male and female, and black and white. Not black actually, as Maine is a little like 16th century Britain in terms of its demographic diversity, but you get the point. 

I arrived at my first campground in Bar Harbor at 9pm last night with just enough light remaining for me to pitch my tent. It wasn’t what I had expected. I had to sleep alone in a gravel strewn overflow car park that looked as if it had the hallmarks of the Fred West Landscape Gardening Co, it was petrifying, I spent an hour trying to go to sleep wondering whether or not I would wake up to find some grinning toothless perv wearing my testicles as earrings. However, when I went to pay the man this morning, “no charge” was the reply. He could see I was tired and didn’t exactly get the most out of my night there, so he waived the fee. It’s Bar Harbor Campground by the way, you know, if you’re ever in the area and after a freebie.

I was up early this morning and after building my bike began my journey in the sun around some of the best scenery I’ve had the fortune to lay my eyes on. Winding, sloping, wide roads acted as the main character in this production, but the scenery was something else; enormous, sheer faced mountains contended with glistening blue ocean for pride of place in the memory bank. I must‘ve looked like a right div because I cycled for nearly the entire day with a smile on my face arching my neck from left to right as I attempted to take in all that was before me.  The smile didn’t last though, as after 45 miles I happened upon a puncture. On the first day! I’m hoping that was just beginners’ bad luck, because 80 odd inner tubes would cost me a bomb, and I ain’t got the perseverance to find and fix a hole the size of George Osbourne’s heart every day. Fortunately, a very convivial lobster fisherman named Rocky (yes, Rocky) was on hand to help, that was, until his Harley broke in what can only be described as an 8 square foot Bermuda triangle for dual wheelers. Don’t bother coming to help, though, we’ve sorted it, have me and Rocky.

Apart from the spectacular scenery, this state is really about the people, I woke up this morning alone in a serial killer’s theme park, and go to bed having been offered three places to stay on my journey, help with a puncture, butane for my stove and countless other words of encouragement for the journey ahead from the likes of Jack, Travis, Peter, Joyce and Kathie (the delightful owner of a restaurant that supplied me with the best eggs benedict I’ve ever had this morning). If I meet kinder people in any state, then I’ll be a lucky man.

The mosquitos on the other hand are right greedy bastards. My legs look like an aero bar. Little shits.


James Bond will be returning in... Squantum Point
Good start...
Damn it, I was looking for the town of village hill. 
The Lycra Cowboy is anything but ordinary, but he does like to be with extraordinary people. What to do?
PY Bastien
6/6/2013 11:15:12 am

I am very impressed of what you are doing right now! I'll sure stay tuned all along your journey across 'Merica. Best of luck!

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/6/2013 11:40:11 am

Cheers, Big man. Keep an eye on me. Might pass out before the end!

Reply
Karen
6/6/2013 04:38:52 pm

Lycra Cowboy post 1. Read, enjoyed, lol'd at. Bring on post 2. Kx

Reply
Linda
6/6/2013 05:40:47 pm

Good Lycra Cowboy! Will follow you every day see how you are progressing.

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/6/2013 09:20:34 pm

Thanks chaps, Internet connection and assuming survival I'll post when I can.

Reply
Kathie
6/7/2013 10:08:48 pm

Hello Sean! So wonderful to have met your acquaintance! Your bright and positive attitude toward life and engaging smile will open many doors on this trek of yours. I wish you the best and look forward to reading of your journey across this amazing country. I do have to clarify though that I'm not the owner at 2Cats LOL I just happen to love the owners, their daughter is a dance student of mine and I work there summers :) Very Best Wishes Sean! It was such a pleasure meeting you. Take care of yourself.

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/11/2013 12:29:09 pm

Thanks Kathie, it must've been because your carried yourself with such ownership. Who knows.

Reply
patricia
6/10/2013 04:56:08 am

Hey Shaun,
This is patricia i was in rickys diner in bridgton when u came in for breakfast. It was good to meet u. I lost the card u gave me so i dont have ur email. Good luck on your trip be safe! patricia

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/11/2013 12:28:18 pm

Hi Patricia, well done for finding me on the web, though. Keep your eyes peeled for more adventures..

Reply
Patricia Farris
6/16/2013 09:50:40 pm

Hey Shaun havent heard any thing from ya. this is Patricia from Rickys Diner in Maine. How far did u make it and how is your trip going so far?
Hugs Patricia

Reply
Lycra Cowboy
6/17/2013 07:06:54 am

Hi Patricia, it's going great. I'm in Lake Ontario today makings way to Niagara Falls by the end of the week.

Reply
Patricia Farris
6/18/2013 12:30:40 am

I was at niagara falls years ago so beautiful. always wanted to go back.you are really crusing along with black betty. Fascinating! Well here at Rickys Diner Joyce and i still talk about you. lolLots of rain and thundering going on back here in maine. Be safe my friend keep in touch. hugs Patricia

Reply
Patricia Farris
6/18/2013 12:34:54 am

Hey Shaun glad to hear from you. I went to niagara Falls along time ago always wanted to go back. I see u and black betty are cruising along. lol Back at Rickys Diner Joyce and i are still talking about your adventure. Lots of rain and thundering back here in maine. Be safe and keep in touch. Hugs Patricia

Reply
7/6/2013 12:56:38 am

Hey Shaun,
How are you? Havent heard from u in awhile. Hope u are doing ok. This heat back in Maine is awful. Hope u are staying cool. let me know how u are and how far you have gotten, Hugs from Rickys Diner bridgton maine

Reply



Leave a Reply.