Picture
Today: 51.2MPH – AVG Speed: 10.1MPH – Top Speed: 33.6MPH
Total: 3,960.01

Another day, another bustling metropolis. This time, I have gone from Hanksville with a population of 219 to Torrey with 192.  The further into Utah I get, the more towns of these sizes appear as the beacon of life and civilisation. It doesn’t take much time for the human mind to alter its parameters of what is considered lively. When you spend days seeing next to no-one, any group that’s more than a handful can have the same effect as walking into a packed stadium does on a city dweller.

Well, today started with a few nerves as Betty’s rack is not too far from swimming with the fishes. Somehow, and my incredulity has still not tempered, this high quality, sturdy piece of equipment has managed to shed two bolted screws and, to my greater confusion, managed to lose a core piece of it’s metal hinging. I’ve no idea how to explain it, but I’m in need of either a replacement rack or a soldering iron sharpish and out here, both are as hard to find as a pin in a bale. The next bike shop is 180 miles away and the location of the nearest welding machinery and a competent operator is any soul’s guess. We’ve come to a temporary solution with alien screws and nuts, but the way she was shaking today, making these 180 miles without incident will require some celestial intervention, and I ain’t one for praying. Put lightly, if this thing fails, I’m stranded, because there’s about 32 pounds of weight on that bugger, and my back doesn’t have the manoeuvrability or constitution to carry it much further than nowhere.

Anyway, this is a rickety bridge I’ll cross when I get to it. In the meantime, I’ll continue to marvel at the scenery. As I’ve said before, everyday surprises, and today was no different, yes there were mesas and buttes, but this time the colours were more a shade of grey (at least 50). And this lent a sci-fi tone to the landscape, not that I’m one for Star Trekking and the like, but with a little imagination, hey presto we’re on a new planet. I shall call it Lycrapatron.

From here we moved into The Capitol Reef National Park, where we were met by more grand rock formations of white stone and jagged red cliffs that resembled shipwrecks to my sweat glazed eyes. I got into Torrey at about 13:30, which has given me plenty of time to enjoy my cabin, eat lunch and have a chinwag with those good people back home.

It was only 50 miles again today, but hey, what’s the rush, right?


we're on a road to nowhere.
50 shades of grey.
Where's Betty?
In Capitol Reef
2 rocks, living on just 1 butte.
Home Sweet Home. Or is this an hallucination borne of nostalgia?
My cabin for the night.
Donna seems like a RIGHT laugh.
blaise douglas
8/15/2013 01:31:55 am

Its a god forsaken barren land - its Deliverance with out the water and the canoe is a bike. Blaise

Reply



Leave a Reply.